A Classy Christmas Cocktail

I have been searching for the perfect holiday cocktail, but without any luck. Everything is either too fatty, creamy, or pepperminty. I wanted something crisp, refreshing and modern, that would be appropriate at a casual get-together, as well as an elegant soiree.  Fortunately, I met Brian Stewart, mixologist at Soho House, L.A., who helped me create the perfect classy Christmas cocktail: The Partridge in a Pear Tree. I served the delicious concoction at my December book club meeting, and it was a big hit (and TRUST me, these ladies know their cocktails!). Infused with pear vodka, and garnished with a sprig of rosemary (the tree…get it?!) the drink has a unique flavor all it’s own. The presentation is so polished, yet you don’t have to be a superstar bartender to get the recipe just right:

Partridge in a Pear Tree

  • 1½ oz pear vodka
  • ½ oz lemon juice
  • ½ oz simple syrup ( I used agave nectar instead)
  • Champagne
  • Rosemary, cut into 1½ inch sprigs

Place one rosemary sprig in each glass. Combine vodka, lemon juice and simple syrup (or agave) in a shaker over ice. Shake well, and strain over rosemary. Top with champagne. Serve and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Hostess with the Mostest, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

76 Responses to A Classy Christmas Cocktail

  1. Looks like you’re a busy woman. Enjoy life, and Merry Christmas!

    • Hawlie Ohe says:

      Merry Christmas to you too! I lived in North Dakota for a year right after college, so I have a pretty good idea of what you are going through right now with the weather at all…don’t envy you a bit in that department. However, the baby is another story…CONGRATULATIONS!!!

  2. even as a guy i would gladly down many of these to get through the holidays!
    http://dearexgirlfriend.com/

  3. chichipower says:

    Wow what a fun cocktail! Sounds yum 🙂

  4. I love the idea of putting herbs in drinks. I had a cocktail this past weekend that had a sprig of dill in it. So delicious.

  5. CrystalSpins says:

    Pear vodka is my absolute FAVORITE. I’ll be trying this this weekend. (Although, I’m not completely sold on the lemon juice.)

    Crystal
    http://www.crystalspins.com

  6. this looks fab. Can’t wait to try it at home.

  7. Teri says:

    Awesome~I always get to play bartender at the family functions (truthfully, I volunteer because it keeps me close to the booze…)

    I ADORE this drink! Thanks for sharing it with us. 🙂

  8. Hooray for being freshly pressed!! All of your posts are super cute and hopefully you will get tons of new readers!

  9. Babygirl says:

    Very nice drink recipe for entertaining with… enjoyed reading this post

  10. Evie Garone says:

    What time is happy hour? Yum, I’m there!

    evelyngarone.com

  11. midnitechef says:

    My two favorites in one glass!

  12. auntbethany says:

    This looks delicious! By the by, I love your site description…kudos on staying who you are, even after marriage! I plan to stay far, far away from Mom jeans as I get older, get married, and have a family. Kudos on FP!

  13. I like the “staying you” idea too–marrying a single parent of three, I went from being single to being one of five, and I got a little bit lost in the shuffle for a while, so I can relate to that! I will check out some of your other posts.
    I don’t do alcohol, but if I did, I would totally try this drink, it sounds like a great mix of flavors, plus I have rosemary growing on my front porch!

  14. fishmongress says:

    Thank you for posting this! I was just discussing this same dilemma with my husband. We love our cocktails, but we can’t stand the heavy, overly-creamy, overly-sugared drinks that are served at winter holiday parties! Less room for appetizers and dessert, right?

  15. calogeromira says:

    Partridge in a pear tree? Thank u.

  16. humanitarikim says:

    Yes, I think I will. Looks delicious!

    http://humanitarikim.wordpress.com/

  17. erikamarks says:

    What a wonderful sounding drink, and I’m always looking for new ways to use rosemary…thanks for sharing and congrats on being FB.

  18. enjoibeing says:

    looks so yummy! gotta write this down on my drinks to make

    http://enjoibeing.wordpress.com/

  19. This looks and sounds absolutely amazing! It’s a great alternative to the cream-heavy, candy-cane flavored drinks that seem to own this season, but it still stays festive. I’m definitely going to try this out; thanks for the great recipe! And congrats on being Freshly Pressed!
    P.S. I love your tag line–“All about staying you even after saying ‘I do’!” Very cute. 🙂

  20. Pingback: Partridge in a Pear Tree | Walter's Greasy Spoon

  21. Pingback: Challenge: Holiday Beverages « The Domestic Chef

  22. pbenjay says:

    Hi, the photo of the Christmas Cocktail caught my eye and once I read your post and the recipe I knew I wanted to tell more people about it. I hope you don’t mind that I posted a link to your blog in mine. Looks and sounds delicious.

  23. sam says:

    Looks tasteful!!!

  24. Dawn says:

    Yum.

    I think we’ll be trying this sometime soon…

  25. evilcyber says:

    Hawlie, that is a sweet looking cocktail.

    However, at certain Christmas parties it doesn’t much matter to people what they drink, as long they get drunk – which on some Christmas parties is perfectly justified 😉

    Evil
    http://www.evilcyber.com/

  26. gpeace says:

    That looks delicious 🙂 great timing seeing as the festive drinking has already started for my family and me!

  27. Miss Hawlie,

    Fabulous recipe!

    ‘The Fab Life of a Housewife is all about staying you, even after saying “I do”.’ Looks like somebody has a book idea, Im just sayin’.

    Great blog my dear, and congratulations on being freshly pressed!

    xoxo
    -Bianca and the Girls with Prius Envy

  28. progettored says:

    Awesome. Can’t wait to share it with my girls 🙂

    And thanks for the blog. I’m not married yet (hopefully one day I reach such dream) and am so inspired by seeing the hot and classy yourself through this blog.

    Best,

    Isabel

  29. Pingback: A Classy Christmas Cocktail (via ) | Ninny's Nest

  30. I have tried this with regular gin and vodka but never with pear vodka and rosemary. Interesting twist;). This is by far my favorite mixed drink. I don’t like the sweet ones anymore. It is almost dangerously refreshing. Thanks for sharing your version.

  31. gmomj says:

    I didn’t know you could switch agave for simple syrup. Learned something.
    Thanks for a new idea!

  32. Nice! I’m always looking for that perfect Christmas cocktail too.

  33. erinsiu says:

    You’ve inspired me to think of awesome drink concoctions!!! Gotta come up with that ‘signature drink’! Thanks!

    http://www.erinsiu.wordpress.com

  34. Ambro Wright says:

    Thanks for this! Oddly enough, my husband will probably really enjoy this cocktail…maybe even more than me.

  35. Asian Dyna says:

    Very interesting. I’ll surely try this one. Thanks!
    Dyna 🙂
    http://www.asiandyna.wordpress.com

  36. Ka-o-Ri says:

    i am a clubber and i loving so much drinking cocktail…some really nice but not reslly special…..lol
    monetize your brain

  37. sdjurgensen says:

    It looks like I have the same kind of taste. This looks delicious.

    I’m not much of a drink maker. Would you allow me to reblog on my site with credit and a link to you?

    http://www.yumyummum.wordpress.com

  38. sdjurgensen says:

    This is wonderful and right up my alley. I’ve reblogged on my site as a resource to my readers. Thanks for posting it.

    http://www.yumyummum.wordpress.com

  39. Pingback: A Classy Christmas Cocktail (via ) Yummy Mummy « Yummy Mummy's Food Journey

  40. essiehall says:

    It looks beautiful and sounds delish! I totally agree about the heavy holiday cocktails. Good find!

  41. rsmacaalay says:

    Now I know now what to serve the ladies this coming weekend. Thanks for the idea

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

  42. Ioannis Gatsiounis says:

    thanks for the drink tip. doesn’t sound all that great but since i like to get loaded, i’m gonna make me about six tonight and see how i feel in the morning….as for your bio, i note that you’re married. but didn’t you consider taking a more independent and empowering route in life? marriage is so passe, don’t you know? so 20th century. the in-thing is to resist being pathetically conventional and claiming ownership over someone through the archaic institution of marriage, and just live it up with that (those) someone(s) you like chillin’ with…I suspect you like this cocktail because the alcohol helps mask the pain of joining the torturous cult of formalized fidelity that invariably leads to heartbreak and an unromantic death. And so I do feel your pain. But once I get loaded on your delicious-sounding recipe that you were nice enough to share with the world (even the Saudis), I’m sure I won’t be feeling anything, except maybe a little affection for your engaging blog. Thanks, and Happy Holidays. (Now bugger off, darling.)

  43. Homeflair says:

    Sounds absolutely delish. Was looking for a Christmas day cocktail so thanks for sharing!
    Merry Chrismas.

  44. Ariel says:

    Happy holidays to all your blog readers!

  45. This indeed sounds FANTASTIC! Thank you for posting it!

  46. portableking says:

    i will try this recipe.

  47. Pingback: A Classy Christmas Cocktail (via )~ The Partridge in a Pear Tree « Truth Is Pagan Media That Bites

  48. Schilder says:

    Looks delicious! Vodka & Lemon are always a wining team!
    Merry Christmas!

  49. The top angle shot was perfect! so tasty

  50. Lexium says:

    Champagne + vodka ?!!)) This mixture of nuclear))

    In Russia it is called “Northern Lights”)))

    Merry Christmas dear))

  51. Marjolein says:

    I’m definitely going to try and make this. Thanks for the recipe!

  52. Congrats on getting FP!

    The cocktails sounds really nice and the idea of the ‘tree’ too…however… I’m a bit suspicious about putting rosemary in a cocktail! It really doesn’t seem like a good match at all!

    http://littleexplorer.wordpress.com/

    • Hawlie Ohe says:

      littleexplorer~ thanks for your comment. You’d be surprised about the rosemary, though. I found that the longer it soaked in my drink, the better it tasted. Give it try, you may be surprised!

  53. johnhauge says:

    I’m going to try this. Thanks. Merry Christmas.

  54. Wow. I mean, WOW! Love the rosemary sprig — what a unique twist.

  55. Leta Leibee says:

    Thanks for creating this. I really feel as though I know so much more about the topic than I did before. You should continue this, Im sure most people would agree youve got a gift.

  56. Pingback: Tales of the Cocktail Kicks of Holidays in New Orleans « The Fine Southern Gentleman

  57. compositordemente says:

    for those who want to share and understand the word of God http://thebig2012.wordpress.com/ Greetings and Blessings

  58. D says:

    This sounds good. I love the holidays for fun and family, but I mostly love the holidays for the h’dourves and cocktails. Hopefully, I’ll find a nice guy to celebrate with! Here’s a huge database of drinks: http://www.drinksmixer.com/cat/1/
    Some of my favorites include “Malibu Baybreeze” and “Alien Secretions”.

    Happy Holidays,

    D

    http://thirtysomethingdating.wordpress.com

  59. polyactis says:

    It looks really nice.

  60. Ooh! Ooh! I just shared this recipe with my cocktail-mixing husband. I’m guessing that this will be the perfect -and festive- way to get through Christmas breakfast with the in-laws.

  61. Pingback: A Classy Christmas Cocktail (via ) | the delicious foods

  62. Most what i read online is trash and copy paste but i think you offer something different. Bravo.

  63. Pingback: Confetti Cocktail {a sparkly way to toast the New Year!} |

  64. Pingback: {December 2010 Meeting} Holiday Theme! |

Leave a Reply

